Elections, speaker and opposition face to face after five decades in Bihar

Instead of unanimously selecting the Bihar Legislative Speaker this time, it will be decided through voting on Wednesday i.e. Wednesday. For the post of speaker, BJP MLA Vijay Sinha from the ruling side and RJD MLA Awadh Bihari Chaudhary from the opposition are face to face. Elections are being held for the chair of the assembly speaker after five decades in Bihar. Earlier in 1969, the speaker was decided through voting.

Voting for the Bihar Legislative Assembly will be held from 11:00 am to 4:00 pm on Wednesday, while the counting of votes will be done from 5:00 pm. The RJD is the largest party in the assembly in terms of seats, but the NDA has an upper hand under the alliance. The NDA has a majority figure. Despite this, the RJD has written a script for the election of the speaker through the electoral process by taking down his candidate for the post of Assembly Speaker.

Tell who sits on the chair of the assembly speaker, it usually decides the party or coalition forming the government with majority in the assembly. The assembly speaker is often elected unanimously with unanimous vote, but this time in Bihar, the Speaker has to be elected through the voting process. In this way, the tradition of election on speaker post is rarely seen.

This is the third time elections are being held for the Speaker of the Assembly in Bihar. Earlier in the year 1967 and 1969, the selection of the speaker was decided through the voting process. Dhanik Lal Mandal was the candidate from the ruling party for the 1967 Assembly Speaker. While the opposition landed Sardar Harihar Singh. In this, Dhanik Lal Mandal was elected the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

The election of the Speaker for the second time in Bihar came on 11 March 1969. Congress leader Harihar Prasad Singh proposed to make Ramnarayan Mandal as the Speaker from the ruling party, Jagdev Prasad approved it. There itself On behalf of the opposition camp, Karpoori Thakur proposed the name of Dhanik Lal Mandal for the post of president and it was approved by Ram Awadhesh Singh. In the elections held after this, 155 votes were cast in favor of Ram Narayan Mandal as president, while 149 in the opposition. In this way, the opposition had to be defeated.

The ruling and opposition are once again face to face with regard to the post of Bihar Legislative Speaker. BJP has former minister and Lakhisarai MLA Vijay Kumar Sinha, while the Grand Alliance has fielded RJD MLA Awadh Bihari Chaudhary. Political emphasis will be tried between the ruling party and the opposition. After a day-long voting process on Wednesday, the results will be revealed by the evening. Whoever wins in this will be able to sit on the speaker’s chair.

Bihar has a total of 243 assembly members, out of which only the speaker who gets the votes of 123 members will go to the polls. In such a situation, the support of 126 MLAs is in favor of NDA, including BJP 74, 43 of JDU, 4 of Hindustan Awam Morcha, four of VIPs and one Independent MLA. The opposition camp has 110 MLAs with the Grand Alliance, with 75 of the RJD, 19 of the Congress and 16 of the Left parties. Apart from this, there are seven MLAs, including 5 AIMIM, one LJP and one BSP MLA. In such a situation, it has to be seen that the MLA of Owaisi’s party votes in favor of the candidate of NDA or Grand Alliance.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here